When you are convicted of a DUI offense in California, the court may order you to complete an Alcohol and Drug Education and Counseling program provided by a state-licensed service provider.
To enroll in one of these programs, you must be referred, either by the court or the DMV.
There are several levels of DUI education programs available. You will have to take a class which may be as short as 12 hours if you are a first-time offender with a low blood alcohol content, or as high as 30 months if you are a repeat offender. The length of the program depends on whether this is your first, second, third or fourth DUI offense within a 10-year period. The 10-year time period begins on your arrest date.
WARNING - presently a DUI conviction will be on your record for 10 years starting from your arrest date. However, there are efforts in the California legislature to make a DUI stay on your record for a lifetime and to be used against you for your whole life. This means if you got a DUI 20 years ago and get arrested for another DUI it will be your second DUI. Expect the worse and expect the California DUI laws to change in the future and make your DUI stay on your record for 15 years or longer if not for a lifetime.
A DUI Education Program for First-Time Offenders consists of a three-month, 30-hour alcohol and drug education and counseling program.
It costs approximately $500 to $600. It will be more expensive if you have to take a 9, 18 or 30 month class.
Contact a state-licensed service provider for more costs of DUI classes.
The California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (ADP) licenses over 400 DUI Education program services throughout California. The programs are designed to enable participants to consider attitudes and behavior, support positive lifestyle changes, and reduce or eliminate the use of alcohol and/or drugs.
The following information is from the CA Dept. of Alcohol and Drug Programs overview of DUI Programs (this link will open in a new window in your browser).
A 'wet reckless' conviction is less than a DUI charge. If you were convicted of reckless driving with a measurable amount of alcohol in your blood of less than .08, you must complete a 12-hour DUI education program.
First DUI Offense
If you were convicted of a first DUI offense within 10 years, and your blood alcohol content was less than 0.20, you must complete a state-licensed three-month, 30-hour alcohol and drug education and counseling program.
First DUI offense with a blood alcohol content of 0.20 or higher
If you were convicted of a first DUI offense within 10 years, with a blood alcohol content of 0.20 or higher, you must complete a state-licensed nine-month, 60-hour alcohol and drug education and counseling program.
If you have been convicted of DUI two or more times in 10 years, you must complete an 18-month multiple offender program. This program requires:
Some counties provide 30-month DUI programs for third and subsequent DUI offenders. Currently, only Butte, Plumas, San Joaquin, Los Angeles, and Stanislaus Counties have these programs available. Program requirements are:
To choose a DUI school, select one that is close to where you live or work, that offers the type of class you have been ordered to attend.
The following link will open in a new window in your browser.
Directory of State-licensed Service Providers in California (pdf format) :-
a new window in your browser
There are 4 essential steps you must take after DUI arrest in California:-
Se habla Espanol
Disclaimer: This website is not a guarantee, warranty, or prediction of your case. This information here does not constitute legal advice. The information is general in nature and is not intended to indicate what the results will be in your specific case. We disclaim any implied attorney-client relationship or contract by the publication or use of this website or any of its links. No attorney client relationship is established until we have reviewed the case and entered into a signed agreement.